Home  |  News and Events  |  News  

LCCC well-represented at College National Finals Rodeo

Monday, June 18, 2012
Loncey Johnson took eighth place in bull riding, and Jesse Pichler made it to the CNFR in barrel racing.
Laramie County Community College’s Loncey Johnson became the eighth-best college bull rider in the nation after four rides at the College National Finals Rodeo in Casper last week.

Johnson drew a bull that moved “like a Jack Russell terrier on steroids” for his first ride, in the words of the rodeo’s announcer Boyd Polhamus, and the bull shook him off before the eight-second whistle. He rode his second bull to a 73.5-point score. His third bull didn’t buck as well as the first two, and Johnson only scored 58.5 on that animal for a total of 132 points on three. In the short go on Saturday, Johnson’s bull got the best of him and threw him before the whistle.

Johnson’s 132 points were good enough for eighth place in the standings, though.

LCCC had two riders in the CNFR. Barrel racer Jesse Pichler wasn’t quick enough to make the short go, but earning a spot in the College National Finals Rodeo is quite an honor in itself.

Pichler ran a 15.42 on her first run, a 14.60 on her second, and she would have had a 14.67 on the third, but she hit the second barrel and was assessed a five-second penalty. Her total time on three was 49.69.

Wyoming cowboys and cowgirls did well at the CNFR. Lacey Tech of Central Wyoming College won the goat tying title with a combined time of 26.4 seconds on four, and team roping header Tyler Schaufer of the University of Wyoming won his event with a time of 24.9 seconds on four.

The National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association recognized the region with the most points at the CNFR, and the Central Rocky Mountain Region, which includes LCCC, won that award.

Other national champions were: Bull riding – Tag Elliott, Utah Valley University, 167.5 points; barrel racing – Liz Combs, Sam Houston State University, 56.47 seconds on four; bareback riding – Tanner Aus, Missouri Valley College, 315 points; saddle bronc riding – Tyrel Larsen, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, 301 points; breakaway roping – Joey Painter, Black Hills State University, 13 seconds on four; tie-down roping – Chant DeForest, Western Oklahoma State College, 36.2 seconds on four; steer wrestling – Ben Carson, Utah Valley University, 17.90 seconds on four; team roping heeler – Shay Carroll, Northeastern (Colorado) Junior College, 24.9 seconds on four.

Bryce Palmer of Walla Walla Community College and Hayden Segelke of Northeastern (Colorado) Junior College earned the men’s and women’s all-around titles, respectively.
The men’s team title went to Walla Walla Community College and the women’s team title was earned by Texas Tech University.

Complete CNFR standings can be found at

Featured Events